es | en

User login



Cover of: New York Ska-jazz Ensemble - Step Forward
Step Forward
Brixton Records | CD | 13 €

THE NEW YORK SKA JAZZ ENSEMBLE's "Step forward" was recorded in Brooklyn-New York at the Hard Luck Studios in 2008 with the collaboration of two of the best ska-jazz bass players of all times: Val Douglas legendary bass player of The Skatalites and Kevin Batchelor current bassist of the The Skatalites). But the true secret of this great album is that the line-up of NYSJE is packed with great instrumentalists of jazz and reggae and that the performance is simply magnificent: Fred Reiter (saxophones and flute), Alberto Tarin (guitars), Yao Dinizulu (drums and percussion), Earl Appleton (organ and piano) y Mark Paquin (trombone). Both, the covers of jazz classics in the key of reggae and the own penned themes are filled with strength and imagination. The intense delivery sometimes sweet and sometimes frenetic is always coloured with that genuine New York light that has made them one of the most relevant ska-jazz bands of the world.Without a doubt this album is truly a "Step Forward" in the bands career and stands on its own as one of the best among the ones of their discography. It has a powerful sound, an amazing delivery and great cared production (included design by Charly Brown).TRACKLIST1. Boogie Stop shuffle (Charles Mingus)2. Feel Da Vibe (Fred Reiter)3. Welcome (Alberto Tarin)4. Linecheck Samurai (Mark Paquin)5. Take 5 (Dave Brubeck)6. Pretty Flower (Fred Reiter)7. Step Forward (Earl Appleton)8. Wicked (Fred Reiter)9. Kansas City (Jerry Lieber & Mark Stoller)10. You Are My Love (Alberto Tarin)11. Go Home (Fred Reiter)12. Red Eye (Earl Appleton[END]

Your order

Your order is empty...

Don't miss our updates

Made with by Antón
(v. 3.7 "Offered Pinsterama" // 2021-06)
This website respects your privacy: no tracking, no cookies, no analytics, no eavesdropping scripts.